This landmark apothecary has been providing healing remedies, unique and unusual beauty products and hard to find apothecary items since 1838. C.O. Bigelow was initially founded by Dr. Galen Hunter. Originally called The Village Apothecary Shop, it was bought and renamed by Clarence Otis Bigelow in 1880. Mr. Bigelow worked alongside Dr. Hunter before taking over the shop. Part of their unique legacy has been the passing of ownership from employer to employee. Since 1939, three generations of Ginsberg’s have owned and operated the shop, passing from father to son to grandson. Today, as always, C.O. Bigelow transcends the expectations of a pharmacy.